Mount Pearl Names Citizen of the Year

On Friday, April 21, 2017, Sally Seward was named Mount Pearl’s 2016 Citizen of the Year. The ceremony was held at the Reid Community Centre in partnership with the Kinsmen Club of Mount Pearl and in conjunction with Volunteer Week.

The 2016 nominees included: Wayne Andrews, Dannielle Brittain, Betty Dunlop, Craig Dyer, Deidre Levandier, Sally Seward and Alice Walsh.

Born in Islington, Seward moved to Mount Pearl in 1965. Since that time, she has been an active member of the community. She has spent 49 years volunteering with the Marconi Division of the Mount Pearl Girl Guides, 15 years volunteering as an executive member of the Royal Canadian Legion Mount Pearl Branch, and 10 years volunteering with the Mount Pearl Frosty Festival.

Seward was also one of the founding members of the Mount Pearl Seniors Independence Group, which is now the largest seniors group in Atlantic Canada.

“The success of the Mount Pearl Seniors Independence Group is owed to its founding members, like Sally, who had a vision to help seniors stay active, happy and valued in their community,” said Georgina Smith, coordinator, Mount Pearl Seniors Independence Group. “Sally was instrumental in creating the biggest drop-in centre for seniors in Atlantic Canada. Our drop-in centre started with 20 people in 2003 and has grown to 220 members.”

“This award recognizes individuals who have made noteworthy contributions to our city and have enhanced the quality of life of people living in Mount Pearl. Sally has proven to be a dedicated volunteer who has gone above and beyond to help better this community. We are grateful to all of the nominees for their incredible work and to those who took the time to nominate such outstanding citizens,” said Mayor Randy Simms.


This event is proudly presented by the City of Mount Pearl, in partnership with the Mount Pearl Kinsmen.