Focus On Youth Awards – Finalists Announced

The City of Mount Pearl held its 30th Annual Focus on Youth Awards on May 15th at the Glacier Arena to recognize the accomplishments of its top youth.

“The Focus on Youth Awards celebrate the achievements our City’s youth. The awards honour outstanding contributions to the community in the areas of arts, sports, science, self-improvement and volunteerism. I would like to congratulate all nominees and winners, and say a special thank you to staff, volunteers and sponsors on the success of another terrific show,” said Mayor Dave Aker.

The winners of the 2018 Focus on Youth Awards are:

  • Female Youth of the Year – Sarah Kennedy
  • Male Youth of the Year – Cameron Kinsella
  • Female Athlete of the Year – Kate Sullivan
  • Male Athlete of the Year – Max Tavenor
  • Team of the Year – St. Peters Junior High Grade 9 Boys Volleyball Team
  • Adult Volunteer Working with Youth in Sport – Trevor Budgell
  • Official of the Year – Renee Quick
  • Youth Volunteer of the Year – Claire Osmond
  • Youth Group of the Year – Mount Pearl Senior High Student Council
  • RNC Youth in Service Award – Michael Chislett
  • Adult Volunteer Working with Youth – Mary Ann Hounsell
  • Visual Arts Award – Megan Fitzgerald
  • Performing Arts Recognition – Mount Pearl Senior High Happy Days , O’Donel High Jazz Band, O’Donel High Footloose.
  • Performing Arts Individual Award – Grace Nolan
  • Literary Arts Award – Lily Perchard
  • S.T.E.M. Award – Sarah Kennedy

About the Focus on Youth Awards
The Focus on Youth Awards is an annual banquet and show hosted by the City of Mount Pearl. This year’s event featured performances by Mount Pearl Senior High’s Chamber Choir and Happy Days, Dr. Philip Roberts, Gavin Hull, Megan Diamond, Grace Nolan and the Mount Pearl Senior High Jazz Band. Major sponsors included Newfoundland and Labrador Credit Union, Eastern Audio Limited and Smitty’s Family Restaurant.