

For Immediate Release April 14, 2017

Nominees Announced for 2016 Citizen of the Year

MOUNT PEARL, **NL** – Mount Pearl's newest Citizen of the Year will be announced on Friday, April 21, 2017 at the Reid Community Centre. The prestigious award recognizes outstanding residents who have gone above and beyond to make the City of Mount Pearl a better place to live and work for all.

The 2016 Mount Pearl Citizen of the Year nominees include:

Wayne Andrews
Dannielle Brittain
Betty Dunlop
Craig Dyer
Deidre Levandier
Sally Seward
Alice Walsh

"The community work coordinated each and every year by our volunteer sector is remarkable. Congratulations to all nominees and thank you for your exceptionable contributions towards improving the well-being of Mount Pearl residents. Thank you to all those who took the time to nominate such noteworthy members of our community," said Mayor Randy Simms.

The Citizen of the Year Ceremony is coordinated in partnership with the Kinsmen Club of Mount Pearl and held in conjunction with Volunteer Week. Selected annually, an individual is chosen from nominations received from local community groups.

Tickets for the Citizen of the Year Ceremony are \$20 each, and can be purchased at the Mount Pearl Summit Centre (126 Smallwood Drive). For more information on the event, please contact Rosie Stead at 748-1008 or rstead@mountpearl.ca.

-30-

Media contact:

Maggie Hynes Communication and Marketing Officer City of Mount Pearl 709-748-1009 mhynes@mountpearl.ca