

For Immediate Release

August 31, 2017

Candidates Confirmed for Mount Pearl Municipal Election

MOUNT PEARL, NL – The nomination period for the upcoming Municipal Election ended today, August 31, 2017 at 8 p.m. The following persons have been nominated for election to council.

For Mayor

Aker, Dave Faulkner, Travis

For Councillor

Antle, Bill Chislett, Darren Curtis, Gerard Fry, Isabelle Harvey, Max Janes, Tony Kelly, Dave Ledwell, Andrew Locke, Jim Pearson, Rick Power, Andrea Ryan, Terry Stoyles, Lucy

Advance Poll

The Advance Poll will take place on Saturday, September 16, 2017 between the hours of 8 a.m. and 8 p.m. The advance polling booth will be located at City Hall, 3 Centennial Street.

The General Municipal Election

The election will take place on Tuesday, September 26, 2017 between the hours of 8 a.m. and 8 p.m. Polling booths will be located at the following locations:

Reid Community Centre - 126 Smallwood Drive Mount Pearl Senior High School (gym) - 46 Ruth Avenue Soccer Building - 44 Arena Road (Team Gushue Complex) Gloria Pearson Community Centre - 25 Holden Street Masonic Park Club House - Masonic Drive

-30-

Media contact: Maggie Hynes Communications and Marketing Officer City of Mount Pearl mhynes@mountpearl.ca