

## For Immediate Release

May 1, 2018

## **Finalists Announced for Mount Pearl's Top Youth**

**MOUNT PEARL, NL** – On May 16, the City of Mount Pearl will hold its 29<sup>th</sup> Annual Focus on Youth Awards to recognize the accomplishments of its top young people. Finalists will gather at the Glacier Arena, beginning at 7:00 pm, and awards will be presented in 16 categories.

"As a City we are extremely proud of the many accomplishments and outstanding contributions of our youth community and we salute the adult volunteers who provide support and guidance," says Mayor Dave Aker. "Many thanks are extended to the nominators who took the time to do their part in acknowledging our tremendous youth population. As well, congratulations are extended to all nominees."

The finalists include:

Female Athlete – Kate Sullivan, Camryn Bonia, Lauren Mills Male Athlete - Alexander French, Miguel Pond, Levi Moulton Team of the Year - M.P.S.H. Boys Volley Ball Team, St. Peter's Junior High Grade 8 Boys Volleyball Team, Mount Pearl-Paradise YBC Senior Boys Team Adult Volunteer Working with Youth in Sport - Claudette Whelan, Trevor Budgell, Aaron Power Official of the Year - John Kennedy, Andrew Kennedy, Renee Quick Youth Volunteer of the Year – Laura Keels, Briana Hepditch, Kanika Kaur Youth Group of the Year - 807 Air Cadets, O'Donel Outreach Team, 1st Mount Pearl Lions Scouting Group RNC Youth in Service Award - Nicole O'Brien, Laura Keels, Kelsey Stanford Female Youth of the Year - Gabreille Dupont, Nicole O'Brien, Emily Garlie Male Youth of the Year - Kurtis Butt, Cameron Kinsella, Nathan Pitts Adult Volunteer Working with Youth - Terry Lynn Dwyer, Lisa Engram, Paul Price Performing Arts Recognition Awards (Groups) - O'Donel Jazz Band, M.P.S.H Drama Festival, MPSH Little Shop of Horrors Production Visual Arts Award - Allison Knee, Rebecca Purcell, Megan Fitzgerald Performing Arts Award - Caroline Sutton, Rachel Waddleton, Andrew Hepditch Literary Arts Award - Kaitlyn Hackett, Erin Burke, Hunter Richardson S.T.E.M. Award – Abygail Pike, Brianna Hepditch, Kyle Anderson

**About the Focus on Youth Awards:** The Focus on Youth Awards is hosted by the City of Mount Pearl. Tickets go on sale May 2 at the Mount Pearl Summit Centre and can be purchased until 4 pm on May 11. The major sponsors for the event include: Newfoundland and Labrador Credit Union, Eastern Audio Limited and Smitty's Family Restaurant. For more information call Garry Fraser, Recreation Supervisor-Youth Services, at 748-1010.

- 30 -

For more information or for media requests, please contact: Steve Kent Chief Administrative Officer 709.748.1025 skent@mountpearl.ca