

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

April 30, 2019

Finalists Announced for Mount Pearl's Top Youth

Mount Pearl, Newfoundland and Labrador – On Wednesday, May 15th, the City of Mount Pearl will celebrate its 30th Annual Focus on Youth Awards to recognize the accomplishments of its top youth. Nominees will gather at the Glacier Arena, beginning 7:00 p.m., and awards will be presented in 16 categories.

"As a city we are extremely proud of the many accomplishments and outstanding contributions of our youth community and we salute the adult volunteers who provide support and guidance," says Mayor Dave Aker. "Many thanks are extended to the nominators who took the time to do their part in acknowledging our tremendous youth movement. As well, congratulations are extended to all nominees."

The finalists include:

- Female Athlete Kathryn Cousens, Shae LeDévéhat, Kate Sullivan
- Male Athlete Liam Marshall, Kalan Noonan, Max Tavenor
- **Team of the Year** MPSH Senior Boys Hockey Team, St. Peter's Junior High Grade 9 Boys Volleyball Team, Mount Pearl-Paradise YBC Bantam Boys Doubles Team
- Adult Volunteer Working with Youth in Sport Claudette Whelan, Trevor Budgell, Chris Fowler
- Official of the Year Lisa Sheppard, Renee Quick
- Youth Volunteer of the Year Michael Chislett, Kathryn Cousens, Claire Osmond
- Youth Group of the Year 807 Mount Pearl Kinsmen Royal Canadian Air Cadets, Mount Pearl Senior High Soup Kitchen, Mount Pearl Senior High Student Council
- RNC Youth in Service Award Sarah Walsh, Emily March-MacCuish, Michael Chislett
- Female Youth of the Year Elizabeth DeVilla, Sarah Kennedy, Sarah Walsh
- Male Youth of the Year Jonathan Hunt, Cameron Kinsella, Michael Chislett
- Adult Volunteer Working with Youth Mary Ann Hounsell
- Performing Arts Recognition Awards (Groups) O'Donel High Jazz Band, Cast of "Footloose: The Musical" O'Donel High School, Cast, Crew and Band of "Happy Days" – The Musical Mount Pearl Senior High
- Visual Arts Award Brianna Rowe, Lily Bartlett, Megan Fitzgerald
- Performing Arts Individual Award Megan Diamond, Grace Nolan, Gavin Hull
- Literary Arts Award Lily Perchard
- S.T.E.M. Award Stephanie Hynes, Shane Williams, Sarah Kennedy

The Focus on Youth Awards is hosted by the City of Mount Pearl. Tickets go on sale May 1st at the Mount Pearl Summit Centre and can be purchased until 4 pm on May 10. The major sponsors for the event include: Newfoundland and Labrador Credit Union, Eastern Audio Limited and Smitty's Family Restaurant. For more information call Garry Fraser, Recreation Supervisor-Youth Services at 748-1010. For more information or for media requests, please contact: Lesley Williams Marketing and Communications Officer Phone: 709.748.1009 Email: <u>lwilliams@mountpearl.ca</u>