RELEASE: Mount Pearl’s Top Youth Announced

34th Annual Focus on Youth Awards Honour Outstanding Young Citizens


May 16, 2024 (Mount Pearl, NL) – Tonight, the City of Mount Pearl held its 34th Annual Focus on Youth Awards to
recognize the accomplishments of its top youth in the areas of arts, sports, science, self-improvement, and
volunteerism. The event was held at the Mount Pearl Glacier and hosted by the 2023 Youth of the Year Award co-winner, Grace Lee and 2023 Youth Individual Performing Arts Winner, Summer Bennett.

“In Mount Pearl, our younger generation is overflowing with potential. They’re not just the leaders of tomorrow,
they’re also today’s trailblazers, innovators, and changemakers,” said Mayor Dave Aker. “And here in Mount Pearl,
we’re all in for supporting and cheering them on in every possible way. This celebration means a lot to all of us. On
behalf of council, I congratulate all nominees and winners. The future is bright in Mount Pearl.”

The winners of the 34th Focus on Youth Awards include:

Sports Team of the Year – MPSH Senior Boys Basketball Team
Athlete of the Year – Chris Weeks and Jirah Hiscock
Youth S.T.E.M. Award – Sophia Zhang
Performing Arts Individual Award – Darcie Kelly
Visual Arts Award – Quinn O’Dea
Literary Arts Award – Hannah Smith
Performing Arts Recognition – O’Donel High School’s “Shrek the Musical”
RNC Youth in Service Award – Isaac Manuel
Youth Group of the Year – 807 Mount Pearl Kinsmen Air Cadets
Youth Opportunity Fund Youth Volunteer of the Year – Alex Taylor
John Rossiter Memorial Youth of the Year – Eamon Fogwill and Courtney Abbott

About the Focus on Youth Awards
The Focus on Youth Awards is an annual banquet and show hosted by the City of Mount Pearl. This year, the gala
featured performances by Darcie Kelly, Alex Taylor, Hannah Connolly, Emma Neville, O’Donel High School Drama
Club, Husky Follies and Salt Beef Junkies.


Media Contact:
Jeremy Schwartz, Manager of Economic Development & Housing
City of Mount Pearl
(709) 748-1117