RELEASE: Mount Pearl’s Top Youth Announced

Click here to view the release below as a PDF.

32nd Annual Focus on Youth Awards Honor Outstanding Young Citizens


May 26, 2022 (Mount Pearl, NL) – The City of Mount Pearl held its 32nd Annual Focus on Youth Awards tonight to recognize the accomplishments of its top youth. The event was hosted by the 2021 winners of the Youth Performing Arts (Individual) Award and Youth S.T.E.M. Award, Rebecca-Ann Bartlett and Russell Corbett respectively. The awards are available to watch on the City of Mount Pearl’s YouTube channel ( on demand.

“What a thrill to see the Focus on Youth Awards return to being an in-person event, supported by a livestream so everyone can join us as we celebrate the achievements of our city’s future leaders. These awards are so important to our community as we honour the outstanding contributions Mount Pearl youth make in the areas of arts, sports, science, self-improvement, and volunteerism. On behalf of council, I congratulate all nominees and winners, with my sincere thanks to staff, judges, volunteers, and sponsors on another successful show,” said Mayor Dave Aker.

The winners of the 32nd Focus on Youth Awards include:

Youth of the Year – Isabella Burry and Jason Hunt
Athlete of the Year – Gleb Evstigneev and Karen Greek
Team of the Year – O’Donel High Senior Boys Volleyball Team
Youth Volunteer of the Year Claire Dinn
RNC Youth in Service Award
807 Mount Pearl Kinsmen Air Cadets
Performing Arts Recognition – Conway and The Valley
Performing Arts Individual Award – Gavin Hull
Visual Arts Award –
Abigail Strowbridge                
Literary Arts Award –
Kierstyn Rowe
S.T.E.M. Award –
Evan Vokey

About the Focus on Youth Awards
The Focus on Youth Awards is an annual banquet and show hosted by the City of Mount Pearl. This year’s event returned to in-person attendance and was held at the Glacier Arena. The gala featured performances by Mackenzie Critch, Conway, Gavin Hull, O’Donel High School, The Valley and Amy Rowsell.


Media Enquiries:

Joshua Jamieson, Marketing and Communications Officer
City of Mount Pearl

(709) 748-1009